WTF, wow.com?

I read wow.com pretty much every day. I usually check it a couple of times a day and usually enjoy most of the articles. The ones I don’t like, I usually skip over and don’t give them a second thought. So far, it’s only Wed. and 2 articles have really pissed me off this week.

The first isn’t so much the article but the fact that the moron writing it has no clue about anything PvE. First off, I’m kind of indifferent on PvP. I enjoy it on my DK and my warrior. I’m not a fan on my mage though. I also love random world PvP. I, along with a few of my guildies, will flag ourselves while standing around the summoning stone for raids. We had some epic battles in front of Ulduar when a horde guild would show up for their raid. At times it’d be around 25 vs 25 right at the steps of Ulduar. It was awesome, of course our GM would get pissed because sometimes the fighting would go so long that we’d be starting the run an hour plus late. That being said I have never stepped foot in arena. I have said time and again, competitive PvP should be skill based. I can’t laugh because I pwned some noob that has a 1,000 less Gear score than me. I don’t find that funny or fun. When I want competitive PvP action, I switch over to Halo or Call of Duty or some other shooter where skill is the only difference between players.

Enough of my views on PvP, none of our views can change the fact that WoW is a PvE game first. The current version of Pvp is tacted on. It was added later in the games life….battle grounds then later arena. That being said, I’m not going to hold it against anyone because they like arena. It’s your game, play it how you want. At the same time, leave me the fuck alone.

It becomes a problem when your game starts affecting my game. Which is where the wow.com article chooses to go. The following is his list of suggested nerfs and tweaks to make prot warriors stop killing his little harmless mage.

  1. Nerf Protection Warrior’s damage
  2. Remove the silence from Shield Bash and Heroic Throw. Also, make Gag Order and interrupt instead of a silence.
  3. Something about how they need to make every thing like Spell Reflect..
  4. Cut the stun duration of Concussion Blow and Shockwave by 1 second.
  5. Shockwave should apply DR to itself.

#1 we do too much damage. Um, last I checked, the paladin off tank that I’m beating by over 1,000 gear score is doing roughly 500 more dps than me in raids. It’s actually more than that but I want to play it safe since I don’t have a screen shot to prove it ATM. On a normal boss fight, I’ve seen him hit 3.4k dps where I’m doing just over 2k…2.5 if I’m lucky. He averages around 3k. If they reduce my damage, it’s very likely on a boss like Festergut who has 40 million HP and a 5 minute enrage timer…I’ll get sat for the DK/Pally tanks who can add that little extra damage, even though I’m the better skilled and geared tank, yeah, that’s the game I want to play. If you read the comments, the readers say it’s because Prot Warriors have found a loop-hole that lets them do crazy damage by stacking ArP to get to 100% armor reduction. There you go, nerf ArP, leave my WIS (Worst in Spec….I just made that up.) damage the fuck alone or better yet, buff it where I can keep up with the pally and DK to make up for my unfortunate loss of ArP. Gonna cost me a fortune to re-gem all that gear…oh wait, yeah, I don’t use it, nevermind.

#2 He wants to pretty much destroy Heroic Throw. This would absolutely cripple a prot. warrior in today’s PvE content. How the hell am I supposed to entice that mage to get in the group with the rest of mobs so my group can kill him? C. Christian Moore thinks I should just “run up and tank it”….read the comments, he actually said that. The dude comes off as ignorant and whiney. He obviously has no clue about anything PvE related and I’m ready to bet that his mage got owned by a prot warrior before writing this article. Really, make it an interupt. So instead of being able to use to actually pull a caster, I would need to face pull the caster, wait for him to start casting then HT to interrupt the cast….or, I could call for CC on it. Yeah, then I’d be known as the only tank who has to use CC in a 5 man….I can hear the QQ in LFG now, “Woot!! we got a tank….oh shit, a warrior, we don’t have a mage. Shall we kick you or do you just want to leave?”

#3 Apparently the douche…I mean writer knows how to avoid spell reflect, because he said we should have more. We need to be more defensive….whatever.

#4 & 5. This is where I start to understand what he is saying. Concussion Blow, 5 second stun. Shockwave, 3 second stun. Gag Order/Heroic Throw/Shield Bash, 3 second silence. That’s 14 seconds I can keep a mage locked out of casting a spell. Notice, he didn’t mention Revenge, which would be another 3 second stun. He obviously plays a caster who wouldn’t proc Revenge by getting a swing dodge, parried or blocked and since he mentioned mages a few times in the article….I assume he plays a mage. Now, like I said, I don’t arena but is 14 seconds enough to kill a mage when he should have a healer in his group? I mean, this is an arena team we’re talking about right? Their healer can keep mage alive while the other dps maybe focus your healer or the warrior….IDK. I guess what I’m getting at is we all play by the same rules, rogues can stun lock you to oblivion…I know, they’ve done it to me. I’ve mentioned before that I played Halo semi-professionally. The whole game was about tactics. They do this, you do that to counter. Is the prot warrior taking out your mage that big of a deal if you take out one of their dps in the process?

Regardless of the point he’s trying to make, the guy made himself look like a fool, insulted 90% of the commenters of wow.com and maybe even got blizzard’s attention to up the already incoming nerf. All because he doesn’t know a thing about PvE content. Bad move bro and WoW.com…I think it’s time to find a new PvP writer.

Ok, the warrior thing pissed me off, more the way the writer talked to the commenters than the actual article. I wasn’t planning on writing this, really I wasn’t…I have a nice article on UIs and addons almost ready to go, I was going to finish it today but instead you get a bitchfest….today I read the new Guildwatch. Come on now, it’s guildwatch…the funny as shit drama section (didn’t realise they had more than just the drama section to tell the truth) was awesome. How can you not like reading about how absolutely retarded some people can be. Man, I loved that column. Now, apparently WoW.com is going “PC”, no they haven’t banned macs, politically correct….or as Walton and Johnson put it, they have furthered the “pussification of america”. Basically, they don’t want to hurt peoples feelings anymore because they called them out on guildwatch. They claim, it’s to bring the community together. What the fuck ever, give me my drama back. I would sit there and read that column for days….really, I’d leave my browser open so I could pick up where I left off the day before. It doesn’t get any better than that shit, from the vent recordings to the ninjas….who doesn’t like reading about douchbags getting caught?

I’m on the verge now of taking them off my reader…probably won’t happen because they’re still valuable to read about class and dungeon changes that may or may not affect my raids. Anyway, how do you feel about these issues? Are you a mage that gets pwnd by prot or a prot warrior facerolling your way to a new drake? Gonna miss your weekly injection of drama?

2 Responses to “WTF, wow.com?”

  1. I’m also a Prot, just getting to the point of understanding the spec, and the suggested nerfs are some BS. I agree that a PVP persons should not be making suggestions on how to tune a primarily PVE spec. I also notice that most players that havent played a Warrior Tank don’t get it. Last night I landed in H HoR on Random, and decided to bite the bullet and give it a go… one wipe later and the Healer is yelling that Thunder Clap is worthless for threat… Shockwave is already on cooldown and I have three people besides my target that I have to keep from walking over and eating your face ms. healer… I was nicer than that, but people just dont get us (not that Im going to claim to understand how to heal mind you).

  2. […] more for my own benefit than anything else. Some may find it interesting with the lack of drama on WoW.com these days. *NOTE: I like the way Larisa formats her post, I’m going to make an attempt at […]

Leave a Reply

