Phat loots

-on the 7th day the lord declared “LET THERE BE MANDALUS!” and it was done.

Yeah, that’s right, my birthday was last week….ding! Gratz me if you feel like it, I don’t expect it. Really, my feelings won’t be hurt if you don’t feel like it…of course I may not give out the gear list I have prepared if you don’t but whatever.

Ok, I’ll give it up then. The following is my “pick list” of gear for T10. It includes drops, badge gear, crafted items and tier gear. I will preface this by saying, I used wowhead for this and they don’t seem to have a loot table yet for Blood Prince Council or Arthas.

Also, I have noticed at least 1 piece that has incorrect stats on it. I picked up Cloak of Many Skins from Festergut this week and the stats on the piece I got are 169 armor, 72 str, 108 stam, 45 defense, 37 dodge, 42 parry and it has a blue socket with +4 dodge socket bonus. The wowhead version has identical stats except they list the item with 120 stam and no socket.

Head Pieces: I only found 1 head piece that drops in ICC from 25 Deathwhisper. I’m going to assume that there will be another head dropping from either Lich King or Council.

  1. Sanctified Ymirjar Lord’s Greathelm
  2. Broken Ram Skull Helm
  3. Ymirjar Lord’s Greathelm

Out of these heads, I’m definitely going to pick up the 264 T10 head. The broken skull helm is nice as an avoidance piece but I like the extra strength on both tier helms better. I’m currently using Helm of Wrath, I will be upgrading to the 251 T10 helm tonight…mostly because I need it anyway to get the 264 one.

Neck: I’m currently sporting Endurance of the Infernal but Blizz really hooked us up with some tasty neck upgrades.

  1. Bile-Encrusted Medallion
  2. Noose of Malachite
  3. Marrowgar’s Scratching Choker

All the necks are very nice. All with gem slots but it’s not a hard choice to realise which is BIS….you can’t go wrong with bonus armor!

Shoulders: At the moment, I’m using the 245 T9 shoulders. The same as the Helms, I could only find 1 set of shoulders that drops in ICC.

  1. Sanctified Ymirjar Lord’s Pauldrons
  2. Boneguard Commander’s Pauldrons
  3. Ymirjar Lord’s Pauldrons

This is a pretty tough decision. The Boneguard Pauldrons give an extra socket while the 264 T10 has a bit more stamina. Other than that, they are equal. You’ll end up with a bit less stamina going with the tier 10 but if you want the 4 piece bonus, I definitely want it, this isn’t the piece to skip.

Back: As I said before Cloak of Many Skins dropped for me this week. As is becoming the norm. it seems like some drops are missing from the wowhead database.

  1. Sentinel’s Winter Cloak
  2. Cloak of Many Skins

Obviously in this case the badge cloak is top notch. Bonus armor and an extra 20 stamina is win.

Chest: I think it’s safe to say, we know of all the chest pieces dropping in ICC. I was lucky enough to get my hands on Chestplate of the Towering Monstrosity in ToGC. So, I won’t be upgrading this one for a while.

  1. Sanctified Ymirjar Lord’s Breastplate
  2. Cataclysmic Chestguard
  3. Blightborne Warplate
  4. Ymirjar Lord’s Breastplate
  5. Ghoul Commander’s Cuirass

Another tough choice here. I think the +39 stam coupled with the ability to get the 4 piece bonus with the tier chest puts it on top of the blacksmith chest, even with the 1,200 extra armor.

Wrist: While the Saronite Swordbreakers have been good to me, I think it’s definitely time for an upgrade.

  1. Bracers of Dark Reckoning
  2. Gargoyle Spit Bracers

Blizzard isn’t making this easy. Once again we’re choosing between that sweet bonus armor or a big boost to str and stam. I’m going with the dark reckoning if given the choice.

Hands: Lots of options here to upgrade my old T9 gloves.

  1. Gauntlets of the Kraken
  2. Sanctified Ymirjar Lord’s Handguards
  3. Veincrusher Gauntlets
  4. Ymirjar Lord’s Handguards

This is where the choices get tough. The Kraken gloves are obviously BIS (best in slot) but we still need 1 more tier piece to get the 4 set bonus, which I highly recommend. To get the 4 piece, you’re going to have to skip out on a BIS piece for either legs or hands. If you don’t want to shell out the obscene amount of gold and/or emblems to craft the blacksmith legs, then grab the kraken and take the tier legs.

Waist: I never did see the heroic version of Girdle of Bloodied Scars drop, so this is a piece I’m definitely looking to upgrade.

  1. Verdigris Chain Belt
  2. Belt of Broken Bones
  3. Ironrope Belt of Ymirjar

There’s no doubt which is BIS in the waist category, 157 stam, 120 str and also 1,000 bonus armor…yes please. Second place on the list is a bit of a toss up, Ironrope has 2 sockets putting it in second for effective health but you’d actually lose 20 str if you had bloodied scars already. Broken bones has 120 str and dodge and parry putting it second in threat/mitigation/avoidance.

Legs: This is the section that really got me into looking at gear for ICC. I wanted to know how BA the crafted legs were. Another of the gems I managed to pluck out of ToGC 25 man were Legguards of Feverish Dedication. These aren’t going to be replaced easily and in fact the legs that drop in 10 man ICC as well as the 251 T10 legs are down grades to these bad boys.

  1. Pillars of Might
  2. Legguards of Lost Hope
  3. Sanctified Ymirjar Lord’s Legguards
  4. Deathforged Legplates
  5. Ymirjar Lord’s Legguards

If you’re a serious end-game raider, Pillars of Might are a no brainer. A shot to the gut comes in when you start looking at the mats, 12 titan-steel bars is steep enough. Add in 8 primordial saronite at 2k gold or 23 frost badges a pop and you’re looking at an expensive piece of gear. I’m calling them BIS, even compared to the heroic version of Legguards of hope and heroic T10 legs. The catch is, you don’t want the T10 legs, even if they’d complete your set bonus. Legguards of Hope vastly out weigh them. The T10 legs are a waste of badges, in fact, the 95 badges that they cost would get you over half way to having enough primordial saronite to craft Pillars of Might. To wrap it up, unless you plan on farming H ICC to get the Heroic version Legguards of Lost Hope, Pillars of Might will last you until the opening raids of Cata.

Rings: I’ve already replaced both ToC rings, at the moment, I’ve picked up Ashen Band of Umatched Courage and Juggernaut Band.

  1. Devium’s Eternally Cold Ring
  2. Ashen Band of Endless Courage
  3. Harbinger’s Bone Band
  4. Juggernaut Band
  5. Abomination’s Bloody Ring

As far as rings go, they’re all pretty nice. All of the Ashen Bands are worth it just because it’s free. Also, once you hit Revered, you get that sweet armor proc. Devium’s is BIS, but I’m happy with Juggernaut ATM. Harbinger’s Bone Band is a nice BOE that drops off of trash in 10 and 25 man.

Trinkets: We have a couple nice ones, 1 I’m not too sure about and one that’s garbage.

  1. Unidentifiable Organ
  2. Corpse Tongue Coin
  3. Sindragosa’s Flawless Fang

  4. Corroded Skeleton Key

The Organ and the Coin are top notch trinkets, I’d love to have either of them. Out of the 2, I’d much rather have the Organ, the stacking stamina buff is going to be awesome. With the coin, the dodge makes it a little less valuable but it procs a ton of armor. Sindragosa’s fang and the skeleton key have probably the worse “use” of any trinkets I’ve seen. The use for the key is absolutely trash and the fang is almost as bad. IDK, we may see a need later in ICC for resistances but it only last 10 secs. Yeah, you get big stamina with them but having good “use” is like having an extra cooldown.

Weapons: Don’t know what to say about the weapons, I’ve already picked up bonebreaker scepter to replace shiver.

  1. Last Word
  2. The Facelifter
  3. Bonebreaker Scepter

I really like the looks of Last Word, nice damage and look at that proc. I’m kind of meh about the scepter, especially after running with shiver (one of the coolest looking tank maces ever).

Shields: I probably won’t even be upgrading my shield in this tier unless I get a heroic one to drop. I’m wielding the heroic Crystal Plated Vanguard and the 2 new shields are moderate upgrades.

  1. Icecrown Glacial Wall

  2. Neverending Winter

Ranged:As usual, we get 1 new ranged per tier…but wait, we’ve got 2 this time!!

  1. Rowan’s Rifle of Silver Bullets
  2. Dreamhunter’s Carbine

Basically, if you get one to drop, take it. There both nice.

This conclude’s the gear list. As you can see, I didn’t add any heroic gear. So, some things may chance depending on if you’re in a heroic mode guild or not.

EDIT: Added Harbinger’s Bone Band, thanks Spinks

5 Responses to “Phat loots”

  1. There is another tanking ring that drops off the trash in ICC (harbinger’s bone band) that’s very nice.

  2. Hey, gratz on birthday. I just wanted to say I really enjoy reading your blog u have helped me become a better tank in my opinion.

    • You know, it’s kind of funny because the reason I began writing the blog was to help me become a better tank. I find the fights that I have written strats for on the guild site are the ones I know the best. I know the Anub fight like the back of my hand but I couldn’t tell you a thing about Jar Jar, except I have to interupt something.

      I plan to bring the Rotface, Putricide and Festergut guides here once we get them down.

      Glad to see I’m helping someone else out.

  3. […] saw 10 years ago? Because it has a direct correlation to the World of Warcraft and our pursuit of Phat Loots. What’s the first thing that we, as raiders, do when a new patch comes out? Yeah, we go look […]

Leave a Reply

